Threesomes

Jeremy's%20Pictures%201%20011

First off, I’m posting this scrumptious picture above for a very good reason. Wait for it — JUST BECAUSE! Okay, now that I have that out of my system I’d like to ask a question about threesomes? No, nothing yummily delicious related to how three bodies come together in a variety of positions, but about the benefits to story and character development when you have a third warm body to play with. (Get your mind out of the gutter. Okay, keep your mind there, who am I to talk?) I am currently working on a novella which is quickly morphing into a short novel. The story features a male/male relationship, but I am finding the going much slower than my last novel, BOUND ODYSSEY, which was a menage. It got me thinking about the importance of a mentor character as described in The Hero’s Journey. You know, the friend or sage advisor who offers the protagonist wisdom as he or she wrestles with his or her story journey. When you write a menage, that mentor character is built in automatically. They’re a perfect way for the hero or heroine or other hero (grin) to show us their reactions, add some contrast, create new conflicts, have a third point of view to watch the emotional wrenching scenes of the other two characters, even further the plot. The list could go on, but let me say they’re rather nifty to have around despite the inherent risk of a longer novel when trying to show the goal, motivation and conflict of a third body. (Yes, verbosity is my bane, but that’s for another post.) I wanted to know whether other writers or other readers have had this insight as well? Has a third person thrown into the mix helped or hindered character or story development(aside from the excitement level of the intimate interactions)?

Inquiring minds want to know. Oh, and here’s one last off the cuff question. What makes for a good threesome for you? Is it how the author handles the more complex sex or how they handle the more complex emotional interrelationship? Please let me know your thoughts.

Safe, sane and consensual.

Michelle

2 Responses to “Threesomes”

  1. I write F/F/M menage. I enjoy writing in first person and carrying the reader through that character’s point of view.

    I feel the emotions are what makes the choreography of the love scenes great.

    • I absolutely agree, Paisley, that the emotions make the story great. I haven’t read a f/f/m so I think I’m going to go take a look at your stuff.

      Do you write in a singular first person throughout the entire story or switch to multiple first persons in different chapters? That’s rare, but I’ve seen it done.

      Oh well, I’ll check you out and see.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

