KICKIN’ OFF THE HOLIDAYS — Erotic Romance Authors and their Kick-ass Shoes

It’s December again, and even erotic romance authors need to gear up to kick some holiday butt preparing for the winter celebrations to come. In the spirit of these winter warriors’ battle to get ready for the holidays, I’ve asked seven of them to contribute pictures of their favorite ass-kicking shoes along with links to their “go-to” sites. These includes their personal web and blogsites, links to buy their books, etcetera. For an extra treat some have included a blurb about which of the characters in their stories are most likely to kick-ass, holiday or otherwise. So browse below and get a feel for the flavors of these authors. Perhaps these are the very sexy and powerful shoes that get them in the mood…to write, of course.
 
(And read on for a contest at the end of this post)
 
Author Naima Simone

 

author website link:  http://naimasimone.com 

buylink: Shoe Time http://shoeocean.com 

Naima Simone  —  “Breathlessly Ever After” 

http://www.naimasimone.com  

http://www.romancemagicians.blogspot.com 

http://www.naimasimoneauthor.blogspot.com  – “Hawtie of the Month” 

Caitlin, my heroine in “Sweet Ultimatum”, my first release with Ellora’s Cave (notice that shameless plug? Hee-hee-hee!), wouldn’t be the character I’d vote most likely to kick a**. Nah, she’s strong, but not in a black-hoodie-ride-or-die kinda way. 

The story I’m currently working on, though, has the perfect kick a** woman. Her name is Erin Montgomery and she is ex-military turned bodyguard. Honed in the fires of a traumatic childhood, Erin emerges a strong, tough soldier who is no longer anyone’s victim. Skilled in hand-to-hand combat, an excellent shot and strategist, there’s no a** she isn’t capable of kicking…except Love’s. 

 
Author Francesca Hawley
   
 
 
author website:    http://www.francescahawley.com/

Protect and Defend received a 4 1/2 star rating from Romantic Times Magazine.  

buy link for Protect and Defend  

electronic    http://www.jasminejade.com/pm-6837-504-protect-and-defend.aspx  

print    http://www.jasminejade.com/pm-7481-504-protect-and-defend.aspx  

Seeking Truth is an 2010 Epic Award finalist and received a 4 star rating from Romantic Times Magazine.  

buy link for Seeking Truth  

electronic    http://www.jasminejade.com/pm-7260-504-seeking-truth.aspx  

print    http://www.jasminejade.com/pm-7995-504-seeking-truth.aspx  

Although the characters I think are most likely to kick ass are my heroes (one is a cop and the other is a medieval baron and knight), I think the heroine of my medieval romance Seeking Truth is a kick ass kind of woman.  Lady Vérité de Sauigni is a healer who marries the medieval baron/knight. Yet when he’s frustrated by a situation in which he feels powerless, Vérité tells him to calm down and shut up or she’ll have him removed from the room. She phrases it more nicely than that but she means every word and my hero, Baron Eaduin Kempe knows it. He’s ticked and intrigued by her at the same time because as a medieval baron, very few people can tell him off. Now, Vérité would never wear a pair of stilettos because she’s medieval but even so, a kick ass pair of shoes would fit her well.  

  

Author Cindy Spencer Pape

 

author website:

buy link for EC: http://www.jasminejade.com/m-304-cindy-spencer-pape.aspx

Kick-Ass Characters: There are a bunch, but one of my favorites is the couple in “Stone and Fire.” Half-dragon Dana Logan and gargoyle Beau DuMont take on art thieves.

 
Author Kathy Kulig

author website:   http://www.kathykulig.com

Her latest book is Desert of the Damned  

buy link: http://www.jasminejade.com/pm-6777-327-desert-of-the-damned.aspx 

www.twitter.com/kathykulig  

In DESERT OF THE DAMNED, Jake Montag kicks ass as a shapeshifting mountain lion. Even when his powers are taken away, he still possesses the courage and grit to challenge an ancient evil.

  

Author Adele Dubois

author website:  www.adeledubois.com

DESERT FEVER, EPIC Award Finalist!

REV ME UP, Reviewer TOP PICK!

buy link for REV ME UP: http://www.jasminejade.com/ps-7639-50-rev-me-up.aspx

Lisa Gibson had always been a Good Girl. Then she flashed her breasts at a hunk riding by on his Harley and all hell broke loose.

  

Author Stephanie Julian

author website:  www.stephaniejulian.com

buy link for Kiss of Moonlight: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-7748-kiss-of-moonlight.aspx

Kiss of Moonlight

Tamra McMillan may look like a sweet young thing. And the shadows in her eyes might make you think she’s weak, damaged. Don’t let appearances fool you. She’s strong enough to overcome a brutal attack and fight for the man she loves. Even if Kyle Rossini is a bad-ass werewolf assassin for the Etruscan lucani king. Tam knows what she wants and how to get it. Just don’t stand in her way.

  

Author Dita Parker

author website:  http://ditaparker.blogspot.com/ 

This is my favorite pair because we’ve had loads of fun together, they go with just about anything, and they’re easy on your feet. You can sprint in these babies, so I guess you could just as well kick some butt in them.

My kick-ass heroine lives in a galaxy not so far away. Brought up by and living among men, Nathelie wouldn’t be caught dead wearing heels. She wouldn’t know how to. Nate kicks butt as good as any man, but when it comes to showing off her feminine side… Let’s just say, she wouldn’t know how to. I think I’ll put a pair on Nate and watch her deal… (This is a WIP. Watch this space:)

  

And finally me, Michelle Polaris

author website: http://www.michellepolaris.com

buy link for Bound Odysseyhttp://www.jasminejade.com/p-7702-bound-odyssey.aspx

Bound Odyssey received 5 stars from Just Erotic Romance Reviews and was a Reviewer Top Pick at Night Owl Reviews

In Bound Odyssey, all three of my characters are more than capable of kicking bad-guy ass. But if you asked either Roman or Jace, my heroes, they’d tell you hands down that Mira could kick theirs in no time flat. Actually, she’d have them down on the ground, arms wrenched behind their backs, and crying uncle faster than a jackrabbit on speed. But of course they’d say that. She’s their Mistress and where else would they want to be? (grin)

Now don’t you feel closer to these fine writers after seeing their favorite footwear? I hope you’ve enjoyed the pics and the character teasers from these authors. Browse their links and tell me what you think.  Which pair of these kick-ass shoes inspires you to go out and become your own heroine or hero of an erotic romance? One random commenter who tells me which pair of shoes they’d pick will win a set of Cosmo’s Steamy Sex Games erotic cards. Unfortunately, you have to have a mailing address in the Continental United States to be eligible to win. The contest will run through Midnight EST, Friday, December 18th.

Remember, safe, sane and consensual.

Michelle

 

20 Responses to “KICKIN’ OFF THE HOLIDAYS — Erotic Romance Authors and their Kick-ass Shoes”

  1. Oh! I love these shoes! Unfortunately, I lived in Vermont for too long, and now I only wear clogs. I can never go back to sexy high heels. Michelle, your boots are gorgeous! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Penelope. I love so many of these shoes and boots, I am jealous. Talk about your environment ruining you, dear. There’s hope, Pen. You can get over the clog thing. Take it one step at a time (grin). Okay, I need to get over myself. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. jennifer mathis Says:

    ok so I love the shoes they are all beautiful. but the ones I love the best would have to be Adele Dubois’. Why ? Cause I haven’t met a shoe yet that I don’t picture me in and those ones seem to fit.lol I have a pair identical to them in my closet coarse I’m far to clumsy to wear them

  4. I am so in love with Kathy’s shoes!! I’m channeling my inner Frederick’s of Hollywood alter ego with those!! LOL!

  5. I love it! Too funny and Naima, whose boots were those?!

  6. I want to steal Cindy Spencer Pape’s high heeled combat boots! Love those! Fun post!

  7. Jennifer–Thank you for your visit and fun post. Wear those boots proudly!

    Best–Adele

  8. Hee-hee! Debra, that’s my little fashionista!! She’s always in my shoes so I let her model my favorite boots! Of course they look like thigh-highs on her! LOL!

  9. Great job on the post Michelle! Thanks so much for doing this! I’ll spread the word. Some very cool boots and shoes. 🙂

  10. I like Stephanie Julian’s boots they look like some that I could walk in and not break my neck. The other shoes and boots were pretty but I’d kill myself in them.

    • jennifer mathis Says:

      Sherry-

      Your looking at that the wrong way- you don’t but shoes to wear them, you buy them cause they’re pretty lol

  11. I’ll second Kathy and say bravo and thank you Michelle for posting and hosting!

    Nice shoes and boots, ladies…

  12. I’m going out to get a pair of Naima’s boots. They remind me of the footwear of the Amazon warrior characters in some old Sharon Green sci-fi/fantasy novels I read as a pre-teen.

    And it was a pleasure to have all you ladies on the blog this week. I had lots of fun loading all of this up.

    Maybe I should have a regular blog featuring other mementos from the lives of erotic romance authors. What do you think everyone? Any votes for most appropriate categories of offerings?

  13. And Naima’s fashionista is such a cutie. Love the boots too.

  14. That sounds like fun, Michelle!! And funny! How ’bout favorite clothes to work in or posting songs/videos of the first song we fell in love to for Valentine’s Day. Count me in for ’em!! This was a lotta fun!!

  15. Great idea, Michelle! And lots of fun. I wish I’d known it was for shoes too.
    I have a gorgeous pair of gold heels covered in black lace. I’d have entered those. I thought my boots too ordinary…until the Everything About Sex Show in Toronto provided me with a new pair. You’ll have to see them at a chapter meeting in Jan or Feb! LOL.

    Ash

  16. Oooh, Ash, wear them, wear them to the meeting. I want to see. I’ll catch you next time around on the shoe promotion. There’s always room for more authors to show off their fabulous footwear. It can become a holiday tradition.

  17. This was sooo much fun. Thanks Naima, for posting, and everyone else for sharing.

  18. susan leech Says:

    what a neat idea..love the shoes but the boots really got to me as I love boots. I need boots right now as snow is all around us and those heels sure would not be safe. I will glad share my snow if you want any. ha ha Merry Christmas susanL.

Leave a Reply

